Day 64… as clear as mud.

 

So is the five mile travelling limit restricted to visiting friends? have they moved the sea closer?

Covert missions it is then until this thing has gone dormant for I fear it will not go away, just hide and mutate.

The Galway Boi suffered his first ACE yesterday. Adverse childhood Experience, that is if you do not include being ripped from the bosom of the land of his birth at three years old.  I doubt that he remembers it. I believe that he remembers people from the time but this may be because we still go home to visit. He also has the borrowed memories of his elder siblings of their time in Ireland.

No this event was way more traumatic. After dinner he came in white as a sheet and pronounced that his Guinea Pigs are gay! Sure enough the little furballs were humping away like rabbits. I have calmed him by telling him there was probably a mistake in the sexing and they are not two males but a male and female. I am not sure he believes me but only time will tell.DSC_3057

Shakespeare was well known for his love of falconry and in Othello he refers to several falconry terms “If I do prove her haggard, though that her jesses were my dear heartstrings, I’d whistle her off and let her down the wind to pray at fortune” but I doubt very much that even the beardy Bard could have waxed lyrical about catching dogfish?

For this was my lot.

I sneaked stealth like from the house at 3 am and headed for one of my nearest beach marks.

Baits were frozen peeler, squid and sandeel chucked as far as I could on the newly made pennel pulley rigs armed the the varivas big mouth extra hooks.

I did not have to wait long for the tap and rattle to start. I will not bore you with the details but a dozen crab later I had one decent run that stripped line off the reel but was dropped before I got to the rod.

The rest of the baits dragged back with dogfish.

I did not speak to anyone, I did not see anyone closer than around three hundred yards. Isolation at it’s best.

On the bright side one of my tope marks in Ireland is starting to produce. Well done Ken, only wish I could come home now.

 

 

 

About Baitdigger

Welcome to the Wanderings of baitdigger where I try to keep a record of my fishing journey through County Clare and South Wales.
This entry was posted in #lifeaftercancer, AFAW, Afaw Big Beach, Beaches, coronavirus, Covid-19, dogfish, isolation, lockdown, Nikon, photos, shore fishing, Wales and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment