Day 63… still no news ?

Fuck the housework, it can’t be that bad I only did it yesterday.

Off out up the mountains early this morning hoping to come home to some news from Mark Drakeford the Welsh First minister. A little bit of clarity or consistency please Mark.

Well I have left it as late time allows and the usual channels have not posted any social media updates  on how far ‘local’ is but I have read that it is now safe for me to go to work?

I guess I won’t be told I cannot do a two hour drive to look at someone’s house as it is not local? So as I suspected if a few builders die, so be it, after all money is more important than people and while it is safe to drive to work it is unsafe to drive to enjoy myself? My work uniform makes me immune and not a vector whilst my fishing clothes make me a risk?

Either lock us down or let us go out, social distancing in place of course. Don’t keep sending mixed messages and making one rule for some things while others are still a crime.

The bike in the header picture has a tale to tell.  After my surgery I had Radio Iodine Ablation. It isn’t radiotherapy as many people think, I just had to swallow a radiocative isotope which targets and kills thyroid cells only.  Weeks after this, when I was no longer too hot for the scanner I had a full body scan to look to see if the cancer had spread. When the results came back good herself said I should have a new bike to celebrate. Well I was like ‘Andy Pipkin’ from Little Britain. I walked into the local bike store and said “I want that one” based solely on the facts that many of the lads in the group I ride with had one and more importantly I could take this one away with me.  It was also manufactured by Nukeproof which was appropriate for what Ii had just been through.

Yesterday’s chain snap has ended up more costly than just a chain. Due to returning to fishing I have a lot less time to ride and maintenance jobs on the bikes have fallen to the wayside. I now need a new rear cassette and front ring as well as a chain, oh and the brakes need a service along with the front forks, rear shock and dropper post. Just as well the Beast (girl child) stopped riding. I can use the old Nukeproof until it gets re-built.

Secondly and to be honest people’s stupidity never ceases to amaze me. I have to ride through a big social housing estate to get into the mountains, unlikely but true. In the eighties it had a terrible reputation of which the stigma still lingers, I digress, so as am riding I hear the scream of two stroke engines and two youngsters, probably girls anywhere between twelve and fifteen years old come haring up the trail on ‘schoolboy scramblers’. This was not a surprise but one girl had a corona virus/ surgical style mask the other had a Lucha Libre mask on. Ok an attempt at personal safety? Well for fuck sake try putting a helmet on you may find it more of a help than a material mask if you fall off.

Peace out….

DSC_9861

High water or low water? Rays or hounds. Where is there least chance of police harassment?

Only time will tell.

About Baitdigger

Welcome to the Wanderings of baitdigger where I try to keep a record of my fishing journey through County Clare and South Wales.
This entry was posted in #lifeaftercancer, coronavirus, Covid-19, isolation, lockdown, Nikon, Wales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment