Day 88…. stick to what you know..

For all the normal family feud reasons I have not spoken to my brother for years.. too many years but stupid arguments tend to do that to even the strongest families and like hillbillies and rednecks we are good at holding grudges. Even our unborn children would continue the resentment.

Recently I have been getting odd message from him, not the ‘did you know uncle fred has died’ type because they are already all dead. No these were fishing questions and as we are now allowed to meet a member of another household we arranged a quick beach session.

Stay local, easy fishing?

The last time I was at Aberavon I saw fish in the water in front of me and assumed that they were Golden Grey Mullet. I have never caught one so thought I would have a go.

Two things no three things, firstly I do not know anything about them. Secondly bait. This seems to be Harbour Rag, maddies or mudworm which are all the same thing. I thought they were just small ragworm but they are tiny ragworm.  I found some in All About Angling in Port Talbot. Thirdly hooks, very small and probably smaller than I used which were about twenty years old and left over from Sole fishing in St Brides many moons ago.

DSC_3353

I have had a look at a few videos since fishing and I would have been better off using my barbel gear than the three to five ounce bass rod I ended up using. Ended up because I got out the Yatley Angling Sabre Imposter carp rod that I have used in the sea before only to find that the eldest spawn had knocked an eye out of it last time he borrowed it. I know it was him because he wrapped it in electrical tape which his one off cure for everything he breaks.

I wished I look at my phone a bit more often because I would have seen a message from my brother asking if it was too windy…. bloody right it was which was evident but the flocks of kite surfers cavorting along most of the beach. So the lesson is don’t fish Aberavon in a twenty mph Westerly. We walked down to the left far from my usual area and set up.

DSC_3359I opted for a watch lead of indeterminate weight but it was probably around four ounces. This was free running, clipped to the leader on a Fox low resistance ring and stopped with an oval bead. Hooklength was 14lb flourocarbon  and finished off with the 1/0 hook covered Kebab style with so many tiny mud worm that it did not take me too long to get pissed off with baiting up, what with the little worm and howling wind and rain.

I opted to hold the rod rather than put it in a stand and I was surprised that I found this ok. Bites were instant and frequent but micro bass.

DSC_3362

Perfect miniatures of proper fish.

DSC_3370

I never landed a mullet, the weather got worse and the fish got smaller so we packed up about three hours into the rise.

If the remaining worm survive I may have another go at them later in the week….if there are no proper fish showing ‘locally’

On my bike ride into the mountains this morning I tried to get a few shots of the young Wheatears, Larks and pipits but even the 200mm Tamaron couldn’t get me close enough for any clear shots. Maybe if I didn’t wear the bright pink red and black biking jerseys I might get a little closer.

DSC_3387

DSC_3407

DSC_3415

DSC_3418

About Baitdigger

Welcome to the Wanderings of baitdigger where I try to keep a record of my fishing journey through County Clare and South Wales.
This entry was posted in #lifeaftercancer, Beaches, Nikon, photos, shore fishing, Wales and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment