LRF Wrasse…

Well I have made no secret of my inability to catch a wrasse on a soft plastic. I have read up on the subject, methods, times, tides you name it. I tried many different lures on many different marks and today……….

Image

……. I had to watch my nine year old do what I have failed to do, and was he gracious about it….not a chance. (edited april 2020 he still talks about it now)

With the first calm day in over a week I took Rocco out to North Clare in search of pollack. We stopped off at the flats and landed a few mackerel. Still not around in numbers but we managed a few. I have noticed this year a new breed of tinsel tosser. This one marks his territory by standing his rod in a crevice in the rocks, surrounding it with the rest of his belongings before retreating to his van and waiting until someone else is landing fish before getting out and trying himself.

It will all end in tears I am sure!

During one of the many showers we decamped and steered a course for the deeper water, home of the pollack. The swell was a little more than I had anticipated so the lower platforms were off limits but there were still many spots we could fish comfortably and more importantly in total safety.

To save time on the mark we had already rigged up Roccos rod with a weed-less Manns Dragin sandeel Texas style,  so once in position he was able to fish away for himself. The six foot, ten to thirty gram rod was much more manageable for him and he was casting confidently into a stiffish head wind. Squeals of over-excitement competed with raucous chiding from common terns who were hunting the sandeel which in turn were being chased by mackerel. I presume It was the same mackerel plucking the lure that were causing squealing and the odd muttered curse from the young lad.

A small  strop was starting to develop fuelled by the fact he was being hit on most casts but couldn’t connect with any fish. I didn’t want to change to a smaller lure for him as I knew it would further limit his casting ability. The strop was deepened when I landed the first pollack, a fish of around two pounds.

Many of the pollack I have taken must be laying right on the bottom as they are covered in sea lice. The fish had totally engulfed the jighead and as I flicked it out with my index finger I dropped the fish back into the water which raised the mood slightly.

While changing lure for myself Rocco shouted he had a big fish on, and to be fair the little rod had taken on the shape of a hoop and was lunging downwards. Not taking any prisoners he hauled away up the side of the rocks. The fish must have taken right under his feet as there did not seem to be that much winding going on. When I saw the fish in his hands it was my turn for a little sulk…… a wrasse on LRF gear, his first and a beautiful fish of around two pounds.

Image

I am going out early tomorrow……..on my own!

Only joking, I was nearly as thrilled as he was with the catch, if not very slightly envious.

Despite all my safety measures and in an effort to travel lightly I took lure boxes out of my waist-bag and once again left home without an SD card for my camera. Luckily I took these couple on my phone and they came out ok.

About Baitdigger

Welcome to the Wanderings of baitdigger where I try to keep a record of my fishing journey through County Clare and South Wales.
This entry was posted in Clare, Ireland, lures, pollack, Uncategorized, wrasse and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment