Day 26… Better than X-Box ?

120702-1611Foucault refers to social discourse as ‘ways of constituting knowledge, together with the social practices, forms of subjectivity and power relations which inhere in such knowledges and relations between them. Discourses are more than ways of thinking and producing meaning. They constitute the ‘nature’ of the body, unconscious and conscious mind and emotional life of the subjects they seek to govern’ (Weedon, 1987, p. 108).

I know this because it is Tuesday, bin day and today’s social discourse was constructed between me and the bin man. I think the bin man is a shapeshifter as he has a different appearance most weeks

Ways of constituting knowledge – I would like to site Techne the art of acting without knowing but in all honesty I have lived here four years, big bin is Tuesday on week 1.

social practices – I put the bins out on a Monday night or if it is windy like last night they go out early Tuesday.

forms of subjectivity and power relations which inhere in such knowledges and relations between them.- the bin man says if you don’t put your bin out in time it won’t be collected.

So I stand at the end of my drive waiting for the bin man to come back and turn round so I can ambush him with my tardy waste. We don’t have a discussion, he just says ‘Alright butt’ as he takes the bin and gives it back empty.

Discourse done for another day. I am a virtual social butterfly. Just waiting for the recycling boys now.

I can see the toll this lockdown may be taking on the Nation’s mental health. Social media posts reflect the tedium and creeping lack of reality, not that some of my friends had a firm grasp on it before isolation.   Even the images of youthful accomplishments, best Bike / football team / rugby team / fish/ fishing mark/ tackle are beginning to tarnish and I wonder if we are really interested in what our friends do? Unless there is some disclosure or benefit to us we skip through waiting only to make our own contribution and eagerly awaiting the following applause. (Stage right Andy Warhol)

How many of us have looked past the fish and smiling faces in catch reports, scanning the background for landmarks, rock formations and any other indication of where the fish was caught?

Those of us lucky enough to be comfortable in our own company or can find things to keep our minds occupied my well emerge fitter than others who are not so fortunate.

Ballan Wrasse North Clare

I was once told that video gaming consoles are the twenty-first century baby sitters and I am as guilty as anyone of abusing their power. When the kids have said they are bored rather than occupy them I have sent them to play on their games. Unless they ask to be taken fishing.

Will they remember these games when they are older, I doubt it? they will however remember time we invest in them and the fish that they catch. Rocco is eighteen in July and whenever fishing is mentioned he is animated and happy to talk of the day he caught a bigger wrasse on a lure than me nearly ten years ago. He probably doesn’t even remember what  console he had at the time (WII) or his favourite game was (Mario supercart) The only fishing photo of the girl child is of her screaming when I made her hold a small-eyed ray she caught last summer. I think she she was only compelled to come fishing by the modern phenomena FOM the fear of missing out. Or maybe the WiFi was down?

If you look at this post on a computer you can click the title and Fishing Joe fades into the sunset and is replaced by the daily header photo- todays is of rig making bits and more importantly the glasses I will need to tie knots and assemble snares. Old age only comes to the privileged …. but at a cost, eyesight, hearing, teeth, hair, strength, mobility continence and sanity, they all fade in the end.

About Baitdigger

Welcome to the Wanderings of baitdigger where I try to keep a record of my fishing journey through County Clare and South Wales.
This entry was posted in #lifeaftercancer, Clare, coronavirus, Covid-19, Ireland, isolation, lockdown, lures, memories, Rockmarks, shore fishing, summer, wrasse and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Day 26… Better than X-Box ?

  1. alainpaddy says:

    <>
    Hi Neil ,
    A lot of lucidity in your remarks!
    Don’t change anything! Stay that course!

Leave a comment